From Pong to Padlet and beyond

Posted: September 30, 2017 in Ma Education: Technology Creativity Thinking
Tags: , , , , , ,

36599215214_dfaad3eda7_kMy Desk – tradigital tools

Digital Tools across the decades

What were the first digital tools you used?

How has your practice changed over the years because of the digital tools available to you?

What will be the next transformative tool we cannot imagine teaching without?

Here, created using Knight Lab Timeline is an interactive visual documenting a selection of the tools I have used professionally and personally. Scroll to the right to follow the timeline or click the arrow to navigate.

(Currently, the embed code isn’t working so please click the link below)
https://cdn.knightlab.com/libs/timeline3/latest/embed/index.html?source=1yTUw-C4LiBA2Wqkv6wa1K2ymiozomhIODna16WtmquE&font=Default&lang=en&initial_zoom=2&height=650

What is your most frequently used digital tool?

Which could you not do without?

If you want to make your own timeline the website is very easy to follow, and there are many tutorials online.

They also make very nice Story Maps, check out this one on Hieronymus Bosch

Screen Shot 2017-09-30 at 12.33.31 AM

Comments
  1. nickcoulter says:

    Hey,
    I like this. It’s a bit like Prezi with speakers notes. I can see this as very applicable to assignment notes where the students have to comment on a given path and sections of artworks like your example.
    It would also be interesting to preload images and students have to comment on the relationships in the developing imagery.
    The timeline gets a little messy for me on the phone but will check it out on a desktop.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Oh, my big tool is Aurasma which I would never have thought I would be using. And the other development is online polling like Poll4 which is the development from clickers which were so expensive when they first came out matched with IWB’s.
    Nick

    • Thanks Nick, I am a bit frustrated I wasn’t able to embed the working timeline in the site despite it working fine in editing mode. (I’m still working on it!) It is a bot like Prezi but without the nausea of the zoom! I’m glad to hear you are still using Aurasma, I haven’t pursued it much due to its instability but I love what you did with your art exhibitions. For polls I use menti.com a lot for spot check-ins so I will check out Poll4! Thanks again
      Nicki

Leave a comment